What Matters Most (My Contest Poem)

Posted: April 5, 2013 in Poetry

OK, I know I said in a few hours, but I didn’t think it would be 24. Sorry about that. Anyway, here it is.

For the longest time I had been searching

For answers as to why I’d been hurting

I never thought I’d find my way

For I was so long lost in the fray

I needed to find somewhere to belong

Something to hold onto to make me strong

Now I’ve finally found what I’ve been searching for

I’m feeling happier than ever before

This thing I found was not a material object

It’s something so much more, that I’d do anything to protect

It’s something from the heart, to hold close on through the hardships

One of the strongest forces in the world, something called friendship

I became apart of something, I am no longer on my own

I’ve changed a lot from how I was, and over time, it’s shown

I’ve become a better person from my experiences long ago

I often wondered the meaning of life, but now I know

In the end, it matters not how long a life we live

What matters is the things we do, how much we are willing to give

So until the day comes where I draw my last breath

I’ll live my days to the fullest, having no fear of death

Comments
  1. WB says:

    Pure truth within this piece. Your wordplay is excellent. Great work.

Leave a Reply

