Last Week and This Week So Far

Posted: May 29, 2013 in Archery

Wow… This is the longest time I’ve ever went without posting… 8 days… You probably thought I dropped off the face of the Earth or something. Really sorry about that. Well, the good news is, I’m back, and I have a lot to tell you about, so sit back, relax, and read.

Alright, the first thing I’m going to tell you about is what went down Wednesday (last week). So, the first part of the day was pretty crazy, I was getting pretty stressed out over certain things… *hint hint* After the day was done, I went to what was to be my last practice (just for me. The last practice of the year is tomorrow). I had everything planned out. I was going to tell everyone how I had really enjoyed being a part of the team, and I was going to tell my archery buddy how much I appreciated her. Then things went somewhat wrong. Of course, you remember that other person that has more in common with her than me, the #1 archer on our team? Well, I was just getting out of class, and I caught up with her like I always do, and said hi. I asked her how her day had been, she said it was OK, but she hardly said anything after that. Then the #1 archer showed up, and she started talking to her instantly. You can probably tell how that made me feel. Even though I’m used to it, it still sucks to feel like a third wheel. More than anything. So, I ended up not being able to carry the stress anymore, and I broke down crying. After that I called my dad on my cell phone and sort of told him what happened (I didn’t say exactly), so we decided that he would just come and get me early. After that, my coach actually confronted me and asked me what was wrong. I told most of what was wrong (though indirectly), how there was someone I needed to tell something to, and how I might not even be able to come back next season. She thought it was because of a person, but I told it wasn’t. I never really told her the exact reason, but I’ll tell you. This whole school year, my grades haven’t been too hot, and so I wasn’t exactly sure how they were going to be next year, so I was worried about that. After I finished talking to her, I got a text from my dad saying he was outside, but it was then I realized my chance. I told him to give me a few minutes, because there was something I needed to do. So, I walked up to my coach and told her that I wanted to say a few things in front of everything before I left. So, I was finally able to tell everyone (the ones that were there) how much fun I’d had being on the team, and I thanked them for becoming my friends. It was a happy moment after that. Everyone gave me a hug after that, and I was going to leave, but I knew I couldn’t without talking to my archery buddy first. So I told my coach that I just wanted to talk to her. I was finally able to tell her everything. Well, mostly everything, there were a couple things I forgot to mention, but I don’t think they would’ve mattered. I think she could tell at least a little how I felt. I told her I was glad we were friends and that I hoped we could always be friends. Then she asked me if I had any plans for the summer, and she said that if I ever wanted to do something I could contact her somehow and we could hang out. That was a big load off my shoulders. As you can probably guess, I felt a lot better after that. Then I said one last goodbye, and left. Just because of that, and despite everything else, that was one of the best days ever.

Now I’m going to tell you about yesterday. So, last Wednesday was supposed to be my last practice, but it wasn’t. I had to make a few phone calls, but eventually my dad said I could stay for practice one more time. The reason being that my grandma was already in town with my uncle, so they were the ones that would pick me up. Man, you guys should have seen it, it was awesome! I made a surprise return. I’ll tell you exactly what I said. After school let out, I went all the way around the school and went in through the gym doors. I got there, waited a few seconds, then I appeared through the door and said, “Ladies and gentleman, your favorite archer/poet has returned for one more practice!” It was great. I’m glad I went too, because, thanks to the assistant coaches, we got pizza before we started shooting. I’m glad I got a chance to practice and hang out with my friends one more time. And let me tell you something: I’ll be a junior next year, and I know that if I want to stay on the team, I’m going to have to keep my grades up. That’s exactly what I’m going to do. Next year, I’m going to push myself and work harder than ever before. I’m going to do whatever it takes to keep my spot on the awesome archery team. The main reason is I promised my archery buddy, but I would still do it anyways! I’ve been looking for the right motivation, and now I have more motivation than ever! Like I told my coach, you’ll have to kill me to keep me from coming back, and that’s the truth.

Leave a Reply

