Thanksgiving Break

Posted: December 2, 2013 in School & Life

Wow, I can’t believe it’s actually been a week since I posted last, sorry about that. I guess I was just lazy those last two days we had before something I completely forgot to tell you guys about: Thanksgiving break. Don’t worry, you read the last sentence right. We only had two days last week, then we had the rest of the week off for Thanksgiving break. Speaking of Thanksgiving, I hope you all enjoyed yours, being able to spend time with your friends and family, whom you should always be thankful for, even if they drive you crazy sometimes, like mine do. But hey, when it comes to my family, I guess it’s just in our blood. Craziness pretty much runs in the family, though not literally crazy as in mental, crazy as in, we can be really random at times. We have lots of fun though, and that’s what counts. You should always try to have fun being with your family. Alright, now I’m moving on to the main point of my post, which is to tell you what went down during Thanksgiving break, and, let me tell you, it was pretty interesting.

Alright, so nothing really happened Wednesday, so I’m just going to skip ahead to the day after that, Thursday. Thursday was definitely one of the most intriguing days I’ve had in awhile. First of all, we had Thanksgiving dinner, and it was great. It was me, my grandparents, my dad and uncle, my aunt, and one of my uncle’s friends. An interesting thing about my aunt. Ever since Thanksgiving 2 years ago, she’s always brought deviled eggs, but because of what happened the first time, we’ve officially dubbed them “daredevil eggs.” Here’s what went down: As she was on her way over, she hit a few bumps on the road, causing the eggs to roll around in their container, hence the name. So, we ate the food, had desert if there was any room left, then my dad took me to a local superstore. Why? I had to make a delivery. Details: It was the Monday of the week before that. I was supposed to be staying for a scout meeting, but they always stand outside because we have to wait for the leader to get there, so I decided to go back in the other building and hang out with one of my friends before she gets picked up, because she always gets picked up there. The friend is someone you might remember, but I guess it depends on how long you’ve been following this blog. When I first started mentioning this friend, it was WAY back in some of my most early posts. It was when I was on that crazy “quest for friendship”, which I think is totally absurd now, but hey, I wasn’t in my right mind. Things have definitely cleared up since then. Anyways, if you remember, good, if you don’t please feel free to reference my earlier posts. As I was saying, I went to hang out with her until she left, and, not too long ago, about a couple weeks or so, she got a job. Where? At that superstore I was talking about, of course. I don’t remember much of what we were talking about at first, but then she told me she would be working all day Thursday, Thanksgiving. She told me because of that she would’t be able to have dinner with her family. After that, I knew I had to do something. Before she left, I told her that because of us not being able to see each other that much (different grades, no classes together, etc.), I’d had some time to think, and then I told her I was glad she was my friend. She said the same thing, then we hugged. It was a heart-warming moment for me. Anyway, it didn’t take me very long to come up with a plan. Wednesday, I decided I would get her a card for Thanksgiving and give it to her Thursday. Unfortunately, there aren’t a lot of places that have actual Thanksgiving cards, but it wasn’t much of a problem. It was just my luck that Wednesday my grandparents needed to go to that superstore, one in a different town, so I went with them to get her a card. I didn’t find any Thanksgiving cards of course, but it didn’t take me long to find the perfect one. I mean, it was great, it related to the whole situation and everything! On the front it said “Hang in there,” and inside it said, “you can do it!” I think that related to her having to work all that time, I just thought she would like a little friendly encouragement. That wasn’t the main reason I got it, though. What instantly drew me to it, was the picture on the front: a tree frog. As soon as I saw that, I knew it was the one, because it made me remember, how much she likes frogs. So Thursday, after being able to make it through all the Black Friday shopping chaos, the delivery was successful, and she really liked it. Let me just say, I had to work my way through the crowd, and I did it awesomely. What can I say? Not to brag or anything, but I am pretty good at navigating my way through crowds. It’s in my genes to be able to seek out the best path to take, and that’s exactly what I did! My dad was in the army. Hmm…. maybe I’ll tell you guys a little bit about that sometime, in a later post. Gotta respect the great soldiers of the armed forces, am I right?

Leave a Reply

