An Unexpected Emotional Practice

Posted: February 14, 2014 in Archery, School & Life
Tags: ,

Well everyone, we had school all this week, only today, we’re having an early dismissal because we’re supposed to get maybe 3-5 inches of snow. So that means, after this class I’m currently in, 4th period, we’ll all go to our 5th period classes for a very short period then leave. That also means we won’t be having archery practice, which I am feeling really conflicted about. I mean, I went Tuesday and Wednesday (we started practicing Wednesdays at a new indoor archery range that recently opened up in town, I’ll tell you about that in a little bit), and, if it wasn’t Valentine’s Day, which it is, I wouldn’t have minded as much. But it just happens to be Valentine’s Day, and before today I had my dad take me to the store so I could get something VD themed to hand out to my teammates, like when I handed out candy canes to them around Christmas. I ended up finding little bouquets of heart-shaped lollipops, for a very decent price. So yeah, I was gonna hand those out at practice, but since I found out about the early dismissal in 3rd period, I’ve had to run around the halls during passing periods to find members of my team. So far, I’ve only reached four. Four! Hopefully I’ll be able to find the rest of my team.

Now, I’ll tell you about the beginning of this week. Tuesday- Practice went pretty much as it usually does. Well, almost. You see, this whole season, I haven’t really been shooting as good as I had been last season. Now, I always try to not let that bother me, I tell my self I know that I’ll improve eventually, and I know I will, but I guess, sometimes I just can’t control my emotions. I actually started crying during practice, so the coach talked to me. I told her what was wrong, then she told me what I was doing wrong. She said I kept adjusting my bow hand in different ways, when I always have to keep it adjusted one way. You see, the base of your palm between your thumb and index finger, that’s your lifeline if you’re an archer, just like the fingertips are the lifeline of a baseball pitcher. Also, she said I was releasing way too early, and I realized that, but it was like I just couldn’t stop myself there for awhile. So, I willed myself to draw back, hold and aim, then release and reflect. My score started improving that day. Wednesday- We had our first practice at the new indoor archery range in our town. I think it’s great somebody opened up a place like that, especially in our town, so maybe archery will start getting more awareness. Anyway, unlike the day before that, I actually had a lot of fun. I’m not saying I didn’t have fun Tuesday, but you know what happened. First things first, though, I hadn’t planned on going, but I happen to be the admin for our team’s Facebook page, and the night before, I checked it and saw a message. It was a message from the coach of an archery team from a different county, wanting to know if we were interested in having a match before State. So, of course, I had to go, so I printed off the message and gave it to our coach. She thought it was awesome. Now then, about the practice. Like I said, I had a lot of fun. We didn’t even score, we just shot at cups and balloons, which I thought was pretty cool. It was interesting, I’ll give you that. Also, most of my days at school this past week have been spent running around looking for people, like what I mentioned earlier. So yeah, it’s been very… chaotic. Yeah, that’s the word.

Leave a Reply

