Match Results & A Pretty Awesome Practice

Posted: February 26, 2014 in Archery
Tags:

Hello, followers of my blog! As you know, this past Friday, we had our first official match against another team. Well, I’m just going to get straight to the point, and say that, unfortunately, we lost. Yeah, no undefeated season this year. But you know, It wasn’t all that bad, really. Actually, it was awesome! Not only did I get to hang out with my archery friends on my birthday, but I got my highest season score there! That’s right, looks like what happened with me at matches last year followed me all the way to this year! Remember? I always did do better in matches than at actual practices. My score was… 243! Yeah, I know I still have some slight improvements to make before I can hopefully score my season high from last year, 269. But yeah, it was awesome, even if we did lose! And you know, I actually did something I’d never done before. After the match was over, while they were calculating the score, I went over to the dude I shot against, and shook his hand. I said, “good shooting!” Gotta have good sportsmanship, right? Although, I was the only one who did it. Maybe I can teach my teammates a thing or two about it someday.

Now then, about the practice. It was awesome,too! Long story short, I’M BACK BABY!!!!!! That’s right, I’ve finally gotten back in my groove, the way I always do! The whole practice, we shot from 15 meters instead of 10 then 15. I know, crazy right? I usually shoot worse from farther away. You know, I think the reason I do so much better at actual matches than practices is because of the pressure. Most people can’t handle themselves when they’re under a lot of pressure, but I think it actually really does help me. And I think the reason I shot so well at practice yesterday (240, only 3 less than what I got at the match), was because we had a competition of sorts where we had partners chosen to shoot against us. Whoever did better in each round, the loser had to pull out and carry all the arrows back. Let me tell you, though, me and the guy I was shooting against, it kept going back and forth and back and forth, but of course, I ended up winning by doing better in the last round. It was a lot of fun, and I was just so in the zone! See, what’d I tell you? I’m back!

Leave a Reply

