Lost Days & Lucky Days

Posted: March 17, 2014 in Archery, School & Life

Happy St. Patrick’s Day, everyone! Sorry for the really longer than usual absence. To save time, I’ll summarize the weeks I missed, then continue to tell you about today. We lost our first archery match, but won our second and third matches. Now, the reason I was gone so long, is because I was dealing with a few personal issues, but everything is all good now. Alright, just one more thing before I tell you about today. You remember the whole “quest for friendship” thing, right? The quest I now realized was totally stupid? Well, it turns out, when I thought I was looking for a special friend, I was looking for the wrong thing. I finally figured out exactly what it is now. There’s a person, someone I only just met this year, who I’m supposed to protect. I know what you must be thinking while you’re reading this, but I’ve never been so sure of anything in my life! This friend I met, even if it was only at the beginning of this year, is very important to me. Let’s just say, they’re the only one who ever cared about hearing about my past, and what I had to go through to get to where I am now. All my other friends are just random and crazy all the time, and I’m pretty sure there are a lot of them I’ve never even seen be serious about anything. But this person, this person was different. If you don’t understand by now, that’s all I can say. This person is special to me, and I must protect them. And don’t worry, for an online class I’m taking, we had to take a test to find out our personality type, and the description said people with my type serve very well as protectors. Now, about today.

Okay, sorry for misleading you, but let me tell you about Saturday really quick. Saturday, the archery team went and did something we’ve never done before: we went to an invitational. It’s a little like a match, except we don’t shoot against another team, we just shoot to see what kind of score we can get as a team. And here’s the awesome part. Every regular match we’d had so far, my score kept going up. So, of course, the same went for this invitational. That’s right, I got a new season high! I’m getting really, really close to last year’s season high! What did I get? I got a 259! If I keep this up, I’ll be in the Top 3 in no time, and, eventually, #1! Okay, now about today. For real.

Today, as of course you know, is St. Patrick’s Day. This post, I’m going to tell you how my morning went, which is something I don’t normally do. I’m talking about the time I get up for school and get ready. It’s weird, I woke up today having completely forgotten about it being St. Patrick’s Day. But, somehow, I still ended up wearing green. Pretty crazy, right? Little did I know, today was going to be very lucky for me. I would tell you about 1st and 2nd period, but my luckiness really gets started during 3rd period, my English 11 class. When I showed up and after the bell rang, our teacher surprised us with an adverb quiz that we all completely forgot about (apparently, he’d told us about it Friday). So, I don’t think anyone studied, including me. And here’s where my luck begins: Despite not studying like everyone else, I guess I miraculously remembered everything, because I was the only one in the whole class who got an A on it! An A! I’ve been in an awesome mood ever since then, but it would only get better. During lunch, I remembered something I’d told to one of the other English teachers, who teaches English 9 for people who failed it Freshman year. I told her I would let her have one of my poems to use during their poetry unit, but I never got to it. So, I decided to talk to her today. After finding out, thankfully, that they haven’t gone over poetry yet, she said that maybe, instead of just looking at all my poems together in her class, that I could come and read one of them in front of the class! And, this might surprise you, but I jumped at the opportunity! All I had to do was pick a class period I could come, and then I’d be able to do it! After that, I figured my best option would be 2nd period, so, I talked it over with my 2nd period teacher, and she was totally okay with it. I just love it when a plan comes together! Now, this won’t happen until sometime after Spring Break, but I honestly can’t wait! Also, if you don’t know already, this upcoming Saturday is our State Archery Tournament! Really excited for that, for more reason than one. I’ll tell you about those later. Alright then, I have to go for now, but I’ll be sure to post again really soon! Come back for my next post!

Leave a Reply

