Talent Show Rehearsals & A Surprise Turnaround

Posted: May 5, 2014 in School & Life
Tags: , ,

Hey everyone, sorry for not posting for 14 days, but I’ve been busy getting myself ready for the talent show, which actually happened Friday, but I’ll post about the results later. Exciting right? So, as you can tell from the title, I’m going to tell you about last Wednesday at rehearsals for the show. So, I walked into the gym, dropped my stuff off by the bleachers because we were having archery practice at the same time, and walked over to talk to one of my friends who’s on the committee for the club sponsoring the show. This is where it gets crazy. Apparently, there was some deadline I didn’t know about, that all singers needed to get there music into the club the day before. After that, my friend told me she didn’t know if I would still be able to be in the show, but I would have to talk to the person in charge, who hadn’t yet arrived. Then, one of the other contestants in the show was on the stage, and she was telling everyone that was in to come up on stage with her and sign in. Since I didn’t know for sure, I just went up there and stood with everyone. Following that, she started reading off the acts in the order that they would appear in the show, so I stood over her shoulder looking, because I knew I could find out if I was in if my name was on the list. Well, guess what? It wasn’t. So then, after a moment of shock, I stepped down from the stage. I walked back over to archery practice, then told them the news. After that, I couldn’t control myself and started crying, so I went to the girls bathroom. I was really upset, and I ended up punching the wall, with the same hand I injured that Tuesday (I was outside after school doing body guarding duty, was running really fast, and when I tried to stop I couldn’t catch myself and wiped out, wounding my right hand getting a big scratch on the concrete). Then I left the bathroom and just went outside and cried more. After a few minutes, one of my senior friends came out to talk to me. He said that it wasn’t that bad that I didn’t make it, that I didn’t need a stage to sing, to just do it whenever I felt I should. He also said that I was a lot better than some of the people that did make it. After that, I finally started to cheer up. When I told one of my freshman friends on the team, she came up and gave me a hug, which was really nice. Well, after that, a couple other members joined and we were doing a group hug. I felt a little better after that. Then I practiced a little bit, and then, something unexpected happened. The person who was telling everyone to sign in earlier called me back over by the stage, and she was with the person in charge, who started talking to me. I told her what had happened, that I turned in my application to the main office, and she said that I wasn’t the only one that had happened to. Then she asked me if I had my music, and I did, but only on a flash drive. After that she discussed it with the committee, and then, a miracle happened. They took a vote and voted me back into the show! So, yeah, I was just like, “YESSSSSSSS!!!”, then I ran back over to archery practice, which had actually just ended, to tell my teammates that hadn’t left yet. I was so happy, because I knew it was something that I had to do because I’d kept my singing talent hidden for so long. I knew, that I was finally ready to let people hear my true voice.

TO BE CONTINUED…

Leave a Reply

