It Was A Slightly Long Absence, But I Have Good News

Posted: May 27, 2014 in Archery, My Story as A Poet
Tags: , , , ,

Well, first things first, I would like to apologize for my 2-week long absence. Some things have happened in my time away, but I’ll try to keep this post as short and sweet as possible without going too terribly into detail. So, as you can tell by the title, I have mostly really good news to report. However, there is bad news, but I wouldn’t say the news is completely horrific, just a couple things that I’ve been a little upset about. I’ll start with the good news.

To cut straight to the point, everyone, I have a best friend! Yes, it’s true, and I can’t believe how oblivious I was until I was actually able to find out for sure. I know what you must be thinking, though. If you’ve been following my previous posts up to this point, you know about my best friend I met in 3rd grade. Don’t worry, though, I definitely haven’t thrown her aside, no way. She’s just become, what you would call my “long-distance” best friend, because she lives in a different state. That makes sense and works, doesn’t it? Anyway, if you don’t know who it is, then you must have missed some of my posts. It just so happens to be the friend I made at the beginning of this school year (refer to previous posts if you don’t know). She told me that I was her best friend during 1st period one day when we were working on a paper. Of course, that made me really happy, because that just so happened to be one of my goals at the beginning of the year, to get a best friend. Mission accomplished! A little while after that, I forget when it was, I was sitting in the back with her while we were watching a movie in 1st period, I had, well, you know those rare yet perfect moments you can have at certain times in your life? One of those. I had been just a little sad and upset that most of the time the only time my best friend and I got to hang out just the two of us was during our 1st period class. After doing some thinking, though, I was able to come to terms with it, because, I am her best friend, and that’s not really something I should be worried about. So, that day I told her, that, even if that was mostly the only time we got together and the rest was with her and her boyfriend, I didn’t care, as long as I could be her friend. Surprisingly, she got pretty emotional after that. I think that made her happy to know I was willing to compromise like that in order to be her friend. After I told her that, we were silent for a couple minutes, then she reached over and hugged me. That was a pretty great moment. And now, onto the bad news.

The bad news is, ever since Nationals, we haven’t had archery practice, and we won’t be having it again until next year, which, as you know, will be my last. The thing I hated most about that was not being able to see all of my team in one place. I mean, sure, they’re all around me in school every day, but I have no classes with most, if not all, of my teammates. There is one last thing we’re doing before the end of the year, though. This upcoming Friday, we’re having our Awards Banquet where, last year (if you remember), I received the William Tell Award for Most Improved Female Archer on the team. I’m excited for that, because I’ll finally get to see my whole team together again one last time before this school year is over, which isn’t that far away. That’s the next thing I want to talk about. As I am typing this, there are only nine days of school left for me. This week will be the last normal week for us, because next week, the last week, we have finals all through the week (wish me luck on those). Now, don’t get me wrong, I will be happy to get away from all the work once this year is over, but I just always get kinda bummed out because I won’t get to see a lot of my friends for awhile. It’s not that bad though, I mean, I do actually have plans for this summer, so that’s awesome. Hopefully I’ll get to spend some time with my best friend, though I have yet to ask her about that. The only thing I know for sure currently is that my GS Crew and I are actually planning to go to Chicago. We’ve actually been doing some fundraising this time, so it better work out, or I’m going to be pretty upset. I love Chicago! And finally, as far as this blog is concerned, I will try my best to keep you updated over the summer, and not go on a super-long hiatus like I did last summer. That’s all for now. Come back for my next post!

Leave a Reply

