Last Week & The Weekend

Posted: August 18, 2014 in School & Life
Tags: , , , ,

So, I have now officially entered the second week of my senior year. Last week was the first week, and I enjoyed it pretty well. Most of the classes I’m in I’m lucky to have with at least one person I know, or a teacher I’m familiar with, like with the class I’m in right now (Study Hall). We’ve started a week-long project in my 2nd period class, which should be interesting, as should future group projects, since group work is pretty much all we’ll be doing, with our group members chosen at random. I’m really happy about my 3rd period class. My 3rd period is none other then… Creative Writing! And just today, we’ve already started the Poetry Unit! As you all should know, poetry happens to be one of my specialties, so I’m really psyched. Although, there is something that I’m a little worried about. Like I told my best friend during lunch, I’ve been having trouble writing anything as of late, I actually don’t think I’ve written a poem since early on in my junior year. I told her, while my writing skills have ceased, it seems I’ve actually become increasingly better at actually saying words aloud and making people feel emotions, aside from writing them down on paper. I also told her that if she remembered any of the things I said to her last year, they got pretty deep and emotional at times. So, I don’t really know what the problem is. Maybe I’ve just run out of ways that I could possibly write the poem. I know there are different types and styles of poetry, but it seems like now I have trouble with picking a style and deciding what words I’m going to use and how I’m going to use them. I hope to find a solution to this as soon as I can. Going back to what I told my best friend, I have actually become better at saying words out loud that can cut deep into a person’s soul. I actually think that goes pretty well with the saying I came up with:

“We can’t all be poets on paper, but we can be poets in life.”

Pretty sweet, right? Feel free to use it, as long as you say, “as archerpoet once said,” before. Okay, I guess that part was kind of boring. Well, now I’m gonna tell you how my weekend went, so get ready.

On Friday, my younger brother came over like he does on certain weekends. The day before, I saw something on the front page of my town’s local newspaper, and I decided it would be something fun we could do for the weekend. It was a free showing of The Lego Movie in the local park, with free everything else along with it. I talked to my dad about it, he said he would think about it, but didn’t decide until the next day. He finally decided as we were on the way to pick up my brother. He was kind of hesitant at first, because of how late into the night it would run, so I was afraid for a second that he would say no. But, in the end, he decided to let us go. It was great! If you haven’t seen it, The Lego Movie is super-hilarious and awesome! Speaking of which, we loved it so much, we were singing parts of “Everything is Awesome” for the rest of the weekend! After that, we just stayed home and did stuff around the house, but that’s not anything interesting to post about, so, I guess that’s it for now. Later! Come back for my next post!

Leave a Reply

