My Best Week So Far

Posted: November 16, 2014 in Archery, School & Life
Tags: , , , , , , ,

So everyone, I’m back once again to tell you about the events that happened this week! It didn’t really get started until Wednesday, the first day we actually had softball practice in the gym at my school (previously, we were having it on the field at the middle school).

It all happened because my dad didn’t want to make a bunch of trips to town and back to drop me off and come get me, because we do live out in the country a little ways away from my school. So, I got a plan set up, to go with my archery buddy, who drives, to her cousin’s house after school, then come back in time for practice. So, that’s what I did. I had met her cousin, who’s a freshman, at a game for the sport my archery buddy had managed, and we were able to become pretty good friends after that. It was pretty great. I got to meet my archery buddy’s aunt and uncle, and her aunt made us all quesadillas, which were really good. It was really cold that day, but one of my archery buddy’s younger relatives (very young) wanted to go outside to play. It was pretty awesome, because everyone else had coats on, and I wasn’t wearing anything like that. They were all like, “How are you not freezing?” and I was like, “Well, it just doesn’t phase me.” It was great, because they kept trying to figure out how on earth that cold wasn’t affecting me. After that, we just sat around their living room until it was time to go back for practice. You know what happened, though? We didn’t even end up going to softball. We ended up just staying for archery practice, which started a little before softball. I did pretty good on scoring, and I’m still adjusting to the poundage change on my bow. When I left it at school, it accidentally got changed to 20 pounds, which is pretty heavy for me, but I’m actually adjusting to it pretty well. Like I told everyone, I can get stronger. Although, I actually did pretty crappy Friday. My archery decided not to come, and we had to pick partners who would watch us every time we shot, and it was just not my day, because I totally sucked. However, I do firmly believe I can come back from it, as long as I stay focused. Anyways, we just did archery, my buddy’s cousin left early, and my archery buddy, who is so nice, actually waited with me for my dad to come. So, it was late at night, and we waited outside while standing behind her car, and she started telling me about all the stuff we do for softball conditioning. She said we do different drills and exercises, and that we’ll eventually start lifting weights. I’ll be glad of that because, not only will it help me with softball, it’ll be what helps me get stronger so for archery I’ll have enough upper-body strength to pull back my bow string without shaking, which is a slight problem I’ve been dealing with. Also, I need to slow down a little bit, because I have been going a little too fast. At least, that’s what happened Friday. Anyway, she was telling me about conditioning, then my dad came. She was about to say, “See you later,” but I told her to wait, because I wanted to say something to her before we parted ways. I told her I was sorry, and that I had no idea how she was able to be friends with me this whole time, because I’m like, the most boring person ever. You see, while I was at her cousin’s house, her cousin kept telling me I was acting weird, different from how I normally act, and I thought I was acting normal, but I guess that wasn’t my ideal situation (it still went pretty well, though). After I said that, she said she thinks the reason we’re able to be friends is because we’re both the same amount of boring, because, like me, she only goes to school, does archery and softball, then goes home. That’s what she said. I could have said some other things, but I just left it at that, told her thanks for everything, and she said that I could just come with them every Wednesday, and that it was no problem. After that, we left.

Isn’t my archery buddy great? I mean, I know I’m also a senior and I haven’t even learned to drive yet, but, you know, she’s never judged me for that, not once. What a good friend she is! When I told her I had to be one of the most boring people on earth, and she said that we were both the same amount of boring because of what we did every day, that isn’t exactly what I meant. I mean, my archery buddy is really funny, nice, and she can get along with pretty much anyone, so people like doing stuff with her. Every time, someone says something funny, she’s almost always able to come back with some sort of witty comment. No, don’t get e wrong, I can be pretty funny, too, but, for me, it almost always depends on the people I’m with. Some people I can make laugh better than others, while my archery buddy has no trouble making anybody she comes into contact with laugh. That’s why I said what I did. I guess I must be doing something right, though, because this year she’s started talking to me a lot more, and doing stuff like getting in line with me at lunch. I really like the way things are going now, and not just with my archery buddy. In fact, my whole social life is starting to go extremely well, as I’ve started talking to old friends who I hadn’t had a full-on conversation with in years. It’s so great! All I have to right now is get on better terms with the sophomore class, get to know them a little better, because it seems like, for some reason, all my motivation’s been escaping me as of late. But, no worries, I will accomplish what I set out to do, one way or another. If I can’t, I don’t know how I’ll ever be able to continue living with myself. Well, that’s all for now!

Come back for my next post!

Comments
  1. found this post by browsing through “archery” tagged stuff, and just wanted to drop by to say: you and your friend aren’t boring, you’re the most awesome people in your school because you’re archers!! 😀 archer high five~

    and keep going with the conditioning, that’s really important for consistent shooting!

  2. archerpoet says:

    Thanks a lot for the nice comment! I seriously just spent the last 3 minutes with a dumb grin on my face because of it. 🙂

  3. Kelea Quinn says:

    I agree completely! You can be across an ocean, different generation, experience, even language…and yet archery can provide a real positive bond. That is exciting! BTW I still don’t drive… I buzz past all those Ferraris in Monaco on an electric bike when going to archery practice 😉

  4. archerpoet says:

    Nice. 😀 *Thumbs up*

Leave a Reply

