Candy Canes & Christmas Spirit

Posted: December 19, 2014 in Archery, School & Life, Softball
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Well guys, it’s been another very eventful week, and I’m here to tell you about it. I know I said this post wouldn’t be as long as the last, but it probably will be (but it’s worth the read). You might not believe some of the stuff that happened, but, I promise you, everything you’re about to read is true. Also, luckily, I haven’t forgotten anything, so I can tell you about EVERYTHING that happened over the course of this week. And, surprisingly, something happened EVERY SINGLE DAY. So, sit back, relax, maybe drink a cup of hot cocoa, and read.

So, Monday started off like every other Monday. I went through school, not much happened, then I went to archery practice. The first thing I had to do was go to the end of one of the halls in the school building to talk to my math teacher about doing something for the class the following day. I’ll tell you what that is later. After that, I had to run to the gym from outside, and I think I surprised one of my underclassmen, because she saw me run to the door and ended up holding it for me. It just so happens that she was one of the sophomores that I chat with on occasion in my 1st period class, and, thankfully, she’s nice. I told her thanks afterwards, then went through the other doors to the gym. I can’t really explain it, but I felt really happy when I got there. I was even telling a bunch of my teammates how happy I was, and I couldn’t explain it to them very well, either. I guess it was because of me just loving archery and being with the team. Like I said in my last post, my archery team is like a second family to me, so I enjoy the time I get with them, and try to make the most of it all. So, I guess that’s why. Okay, so I know I said I remembered everything, but, actually, I don’t exactly remember the score I got Monday. I do remember my archery buddy finding out she might have something weird going on with her bow, so she had to shoot with the #1 archer after everyone was done to find out what exactly it was. That’s about it, though. I will now move on to Tuesday.

So, you all know how we usually have softball practices on Monday, right? Well, we couldn’t have it then because the gym was being used for something else, so we moved the practice to Tuesday. Also, on days like that, I usually would’ve gone to my archery buddy’s cousin’s house, but I had decided that I would’t this time. Guess what happened, though? I do actually have a class with my archery buddy’s cousin, and, when I saw her, she asked me if I was going to come to her house after school. And, you know what she did? When I told her I wasn’t she actually went and tried to guilt-trip me into coming to her house. It didn’t bother me, though, it was actually pretty funny, because she wasn’t being mean or anything. However, I was able to remain strong, and I ended up telling her that I would definitely be coming back over during the week when we come back from Christmas Break. Oh, geez, I almost forgot to tell you what I did in my 1st period class. So, as I said, I’d talked to my teacher the day before, asked her if I could do something special for the class. What I asked her, was if I could bring in a big bag of candy canes and hand them out to the class. She said it was okay, but as long as she got one, too. So, that’s what I did. After the bell rang and everyone was settled, I went up to her desk, got permission, announced to the whole class what I was doing, and then proceeded to hand them out. It worked out very well. Some of the sophomores who sit around me actually knew my name even though I’d never really introduced myself, so that was pretty cool. Another step towards successfully becoming friends with as many of the sophomore class as I can. Also, one of my cousins, who is actually related to me only by marriage, is in that class, and, when I got to her desk, I said jokingly, “I don’t know if I want to even give you one of these! I’ve been sitting over there (points to seat) all year, and you haven’t said a word to me!” She looked surprised and said, “Well, sorry.” I smiled then to let her know I was kidding, then I asked one of my softball teammates if they were coming to practice that night. So, yeah, it worked out. Not exactly as good as it could have, but it did. I also did that for 7th period, and it worked out good as well. That’s about all that happened during school, then, after school I had to stay and wait in the school’s other building for about 3 1/2 hours for softball to start. It wasn’t that bad, though, because it’s what I always did for archery matches. I still do it to this day, I’m sitting here waiting even now as I type this (First match tonight, woohoo!). The whole time I was waiting, I was able to finish my math homework, then read some my tremendously large book that I recently checked out of the school library (War and Peace, heard of it? If so, surprised?). When it was finally starting to get closer to time for practice, I did a little wandering around the halls. The janitor was the only one still there, and he actually asked me if he should bring me a cot so I could stay all night, jokingly of course. When practice finally did start, and this is kinda depressing, there were only 5 of us who showed up, including me. I told one of the asst. coaches that, and he actually said something that I guess I should’ve known from the beginning. He said it wasn’t depressing because, since there was an uneven number of people there, I had no one to switch with while practicing batting, so I could get some extra practice in. He was right. I mean, who am I kidding? I was only kinda depressed because I was looking forward to handing out candy canes to a bunch of the team, in order to have a better chance of earning their friendship and trust. And, something else I said is, if that doesn’t work, I’ll just have to win them over the old-fashioned way by using my charming personality. Haha. But, yeah, the coach also said that I was actually batting wrong, so he showed me the right way to do it. And, with me being the fast learner that I am, it took me almost no time at all to get it right. After that, we did something we call soft tossing, where one person kneels on the ground in front of you and gently throws the ball up so you can hit it. It helps with accuracy and speed, I suppose. The last thing we did was some outfield drills, which I actually pretty well sucked at. I can already tell that that is going to take more time for me to get good at then batting. But, I will get better, you can count on that! So, it didn’t exactly go as I planned, and I did feel a little depressed afterwards, but the events of the following day would make up for it completely.

Wednesday would become the best day that week so far. The biggest thing that happened was, in 5th period (the hardest class in the world), the whole class had to retake a test we had first taken the week before, I believe. I didn’t really know how it would go, but I was able to get in a lot of studying time during 4th period, and it actually went better than I expected. I still don’t know what I actually got, but, what I do know, is that after I finished, I felt a lot better about how I did than the first time I took it. Then, in 6th period, I made some progress with a couple sophomores. I must not be doing too shabby in my efforts, because one of them, who’s a fellow softball player, actually asked me about a project we were doing in 7th period. Also, when I got to 7th period, I asked one of the sophomores that sits behind me how she was doing on the project, she said she was having trouble, then I smiled and said, “Good luck!” It was really funny after that, because she gave me the dirtiest look! She didn’t actually get upset over it, so it was okay. After school was over, I went outside to wait for my dad, because he had sent me a text earlier saying that he would be picking me up directly tom school, so I wouldn’t have to ride the bus. As I was waiting, I noticed my archery buddy, who drives, unusually waiting also, when she usually would’ve been gone by that time. When I asked her why, she said her sister was busy talking, so she would just be nice and let her talk until she was ready to go. So, until her sister finished socializing, I talked with her, and it was very enjoyable. She was telling me about different things, like a stinky bus driver, and then we heard this sophomore guy laugh, and it was hilarious! After she left, and after my dad finally came, the first thing we did was went into town to get pizza. Although, who would’ve known doing something completely normal would lead to something completely unexpected? After we finished eating everything, I actually ran into, get this, my long lost cousin! She used to go to school with me, but then she dropped out for some reason, though I don’t even know when. She isn’t like most dropouts, though, because she does have a job, and she is working on her GED. Which is good, since, if she were still in school, she would be a senior like me. So, it was nice to find out that she is doing good despite being a high school dropout. Pretty interesting, huh? After we left there, we went to the store to buy… my second Christmas present! Know what it is? A knew phone! Yep, people at school, especially my archery buddy’s cousin, have been hounding me about how outdated my phone is, so I decided to get an updated, touchscreen smartphone for Christmas, that way, when I come back from break, I can whip it out and be all like, “Bam, suckaz!” I kid, I kid. But, I will probably do something similar to that. Anyway, after that, we went home, and nothing else really happened.

Thursday was the day that had the most drama. Before anything else, I’ll ask: do believe in the kindness of others? I do. I’ll tell you why, and it has to do with what happened that day. In 5th period, something happened that usually doesn’t bother me, but, this time, it did. So, I have that class with my archery buddy, and her actual seat is at the same table as me, right beside me, but there are days when she decides to go up to the table in front of ours, where our 2 other friends set. Like I said, I’m usually okay with that because I can move up with her, but that time was different. Because of what we were doing that day, I was unable to move up with her. It didn’t really start to make me feel bad until our teacher cmd and asked where my partner was, after which I said she moved up because she hates me, though it was my emotions talking. I then proceeded to tell her that she didn’t always have to listen to our friend who always tells her to move up, then she said that if she didn’t move up, then she wouldn’t talk to her. That, is what killed me emotionally. I felt like I really wanted to cry, but I didn’t want to while I was there. I thought I should probably talk to her after class, but I didn’t know how it would go, so I didn’t. To be honest, I was scared. Scared to say anything out of fear she might end up hating me, because that’s happened to me all too many times before. I’m usually able to be strong in situations like that, but I guess even I can’t keep a brave face up forever. How that made me feel, was like she liked that friend more than me, and that she didn’t care about how I felt. It did upset me a great deal, so much so that I did end up crying after arriving at my 6th period class. Then, something totally unexpected happened. Three of my friends, one of them being my archery buddy’s cousin, gathered around me to see what was wrong. I didn’t really start crying until the cousin asked me if I was okay, then I fell apart with my head against the wall where no one could see my face. They kept asking me what was wrong, then, the greatest surprise of all happened. I heard a fifth person ask me if I was okay, but I didn’t know who it was, so I stood there for second, wondering, Who’s voice is that? When I looked up to see, I got the shock of my life. It was one of the sophomores I had been trying to make friends with, but had been thinking that I wasn’t doing very good. Turns out, I wasn’t doing that bad. Before I knew it was her, she said, “Hey archerpoet, you always ask me if I’m okay. Are you okay?” Or, something like that. It took me awhile, but I eventually told them what had happened, and that my archery buddy was the cause of it. After finishing crying, the cousin told me that I should talk to my archery buddy, because, if I don’t, stuff like what happened will keep happening, and I might become some kind of emotional wreck. So, I said I would try, and then I was fine. After that, we all went to the library and sat together.

And now, today! First off, I’d just like to say that I never talked to my archery buddy. I couldn’t stay mad at her anyway, because, during my 2nd period, I passed her in the hallway, and she gave me a really awesome chocolate chip cookie, with an oreo in the middle. An oreo! It was awesome. And, let me tell you, that was only the beginning. In 3rd period, one of my friends gave me a cupcake. During lunch, one of the faculty was dressed up like the Grinch, and we got sugar cookies from him. In 5th period, I got 2 small pieces of chocolate from a friend, then we got awesome ice cream sandwiches in the library during 6th period! How cool is that? Today has definitely been the best day this week. Oh, and, after today, chances are I won’t be posting again until I get back for Christmas Break, but I don’t for sure. Who knows, maybe I’ll give you little updates here and there. In the meantime, you can finish reading this post, which I know is the longest in the history of this blog (terribly sorry). Until then, Merry Christmas, Happy New Year, and I hope you all have many things to be grateful for. Later!

Come back for my next post!

Comments
  1. reynom4 says:

    Your posts always have such vivid imagery. And i love to hear about both your softball and archery adventures.

    • archerpoet says:

      I’m glad. I almost always worry about post length, though, because I don’t want people to think reading my posts is a waste of time because they can be pretty long like this one.

  2. Merry christmas to you too ^_^

Leave a Reply

