Things Keep Happening

Posted: January 23, 2015 in Archery, School & Life, Softball
Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Hello, my loyal followers! So, I know it’s been 2 weeks again since I posted, and I’m really sorry about that. The thing is, even if it still hasn’t been that long since the start of the new semester, things have gotten pretty crazy. I’m talking homework crazy. So, yeah. That’s the reason why I haven’t been able to post in so long. But, luckily, I have some free time right now, and I’m actually waiting for an archery match to start. So, since it’s been 2 weeks, I’ll have to tell you about all that happened since I last posted, and man, have things been happening (you can probably tell from the title). Although, this time, I really am going to try and keep this post as short as possible. I’ll eventually have to come up with some kind of posting schedule, but I won’t worry about that right now. Right now, I’ll tell you of all my interesting happenings.

So, the Monday before this past one, I went to our local nursing home with my GS Crew. Depending on certain circumstances, it can be enjoyable. Although, it can sometimes be sad. This trip was more enjoyable than some, and I actually saw an old teacher of mine who retired there. He wasn’t in the nursing home, he was visiting a relative. So, that was cool.

As far as archery goes that week, I actually don’t remember much, except for the fact that my archery buddy and I are totally awesome at shooting balloons.

Oh, I almost forgot about that Tuesday. That day, for me, was happy, yet, also, a little sad. It was the last day of the semester, and, as soon as the new one started, I knew lots of things would change. The thing I was most sad about was the fact that I have a really good friend, that I’d only bonded with over this school year, that I did have both a class and lunch with that I wouldn’t have that class or lunch with them anymore. Seriously, though, just over the course of this year, we’ve gotten really close. I admit, I didn’t expect us to grow that close, but I am really glad it happened, because we always have a lot of fun when we’re together. That’s why it was so sad for me.

On Wednesday, we didn’t have school.

Oh, wait, I also forgot to tell you about how I did on my 1st period final. Okay, so, I kid you not when I say I stayed locked in my room the night before for about 3 hours studying all the material. I felt ready afterwards, but then, something unexpected happened the day of the final. I was late for school, and I was freaking out, thinking that I wouldn’t do very good. And, what’s worse, my dad and I got into a bit of a disagreement, and he actually said some pretty mean things (it was all worked out in the end, though). Anyway, I finally got to school, and went and took the final. I wouldn’t find out until the end of the day whether I’d passed or not. As soon as school let out, I went straight to the teacher’s room, and, as I hoped, I passed! All my studying payed off, and it felt great! It was awesome. Anyhow, I will now tell you about the first day of the new semester.

First off, I’ll just say that almost ALL my classes changed, except for two! The only classes that stayed the same for me were 1st and 7th period. The first day was a lot more dramatic than I would have liked it to be. I wasn’t really sure what I was worried about, but I was pretty stressed for some reason. The good news is, even though I was mostly worried about who I would sit with at lunch, I was able to get some new lunch buddies. I’m talking about my archery buddy’s cousin and one, sometimes two, of her friends, and we sit at the table right next to where my archery buddy sits with all her other friends. So, yeah, it didn’t turn out nearly as bad as I thought it would. In fact, it turned out pretty good. Also, on Thursday, I went back to softball practice for the first time in awhile. Me, my archery buddy, and my archery buddy’s cousin all went back, together, for the first time in awhile. Although, some things had changed. Our practices aren’t happening at school anymore, but in an old gym, and, also, we’re now lifting. Lifting, as in using these machines to work out different parts of our bodies. It was pretty cool, because, after I worked out my legs on one, my legs felt all jelly-like when I got off. Also, I guess I didn’t have much rust on me as I thought I would, because I was able to get right back into the swing of batting (no pun intended). So, it went really well.

Now, I don’t know how, but I’ve pretty much forgotten everything about Friday. Well, now, I can move on to this week!

This Monday, was awesome. I’ll just skip everything else and tell you what I did after school let out. My good friend, who I told you about, who I used to have lunch with, usually walks home after school, but, this time, she was getting picked up. So, I decided to surprise her. When I got outside, as soon as I saw her, and made sure she was stopped, I ran over to her as fast as I could! Man, was she shocked! But, she was happy to see me, too. And I mean really, REALLY excited to see me, even though we hadn’t been apart that long. It was awesome, and I think we both needed it, because we were both missing each other. Also, that day, our archery team had our first and only away match of the season. Yeah, it was weird, having a match on a Monday, but I enjoyed it. We had to travel a ways to get to the place. And, also, we would be shooting against one of the top teams in our state. What made it so interesting, though, was the fact that my dad and I had to give a couple of my teammates and their mom a ride there and back, which was very interesting. Let’s just say we took a lot of selfies. Not long after we got there, everyone else finally started showing up, but we were the first ones. So, how did I do? Let’s just say I could’ve done better. Although, it really wasn’t my fault, it was because, during rounds, the 1st flight stopped after the 10m round and let the 2nd flight shoot, which I think totally threw me off (it’s usually 10m, 15m, then 2nd flight). The funniest part of the whole trip didn’t happen until after it was all over. When it all ended, me and the majority of the rest of the team stopped and got food at a restaurant. And there, for the first time ever, I got drunk and hyper at the same time. I drank root beer, which made me drunk, and, as if that wasn’t bad enough, I ate ice cream with many sugary ingredients. So, as one of my teammates said, I was like a kindergartner who drank 10 energy drinks. That being, the ride back home was a lot of fun. I think everyone laughed a lot at the fact that I was hyper-drunk, or I guess I must’ve said some pretty crazy things in that state. Yeah, it was definitely crazy.

The next day, I brought that night up in conversation with my archery buddy’s cousin at lunch. Although, I guess I should’ve brought it up differently, because her friend who didn’t know what we were talking about took my words in a completely different way. I said to her, “So,  (name), last night was crazy, right? I could barely get up this morning!” So, yeah, she was just like, “WHAT DID YOU PEOPLE DO LAST NIGHT???”, and so the cousin explained it to her. Let me tell you, I was telling others about that for the rest of the day, especially at archery practice later that day. I got a wide variety of reactions. Anyway, at practice, I didn’t do that well again. But, I just shrugged it off this time. Little did I know, that I would start doing a lot better at practice yesterday (the schedule changed). I actually don’t remember much from Wednesday, so I’ll skip it.

Thursday, just yesterday, my score went up to higher than it had been. I felt really good about that, and so, now I hope it will continue for today’s match, because this match just so happens to be our State Qualifier. Yeah. And, we’re going against the very team we faced Monday, who, did I mention, beat us by over 100 points? So, the only thing I can do is have faith in my ability and use all the newly-honed skills I’ve picked up so far this season. Well, I think that’ll be all for now. Wish me luck for this match, and I’ll post again as soon as I can!

Come back for my next post!

Leave a Reply

